Guides: Anesthesiology: Point of Care Tools

Evidence-Based Point of Care

Evidence-based resources to inform clinical decision making

GIDEON (Global Infectious Diseases and Epidemiology Online Network)

Resource for data on infectious diseases, including outbreaks, distribution, pathogens, and drugs/vaccines. Provides tools for identifying bacteria, diagnosing disease, and visualizing epidemiological data. Updated daily.
Essential Evidence Plus

Evidence-based, point-of-care clinical decision support system that gives you access to over 13,000 topics, guidelines, abstracts, and summaries

Clinical Key - Guidelines
AHRQ Clinical Guidelines and Recommendations
CDC Guidelines
ECRI Guidelines Trust
Guideline Central
more... less...

Guideline Central is currently working with a handful of other organizations to establish a new non-profit initiative which will aim to fill the gap left by the sudden closure of AHRQ’s National Guideline Clearinghouse (NGC). This new initiative will include a database of quick-reference guideline summaries, along with a focus on developing a repository of various guideline implementation tools (including machine-computable guidelines for EHRs). This new database will be made available to all healthcare providers in both web and mobile app formats, and will be available for FREE.
USPSTF Recommendations for Primary Care Practice

Resources for finding relevant drug information

Lexidrug
Formerly called Lexicomp
Lexidrug is a collection of content sets and clinical tools that provides users with robust clinical drug information.
Natural Medicines
authoritative resource on dietary supplements, natural medicines, and complementary alternative and integrative therapies

Books:

AHFS Drug Information
more... less...

An unbiased, evaluated source for drug information from the American Society of Health System Pharmacists (in STAT!Ref)

Pharmacology:

Pharmacology World
more... less...

A video series to help master the key concepts of pharmacology. It covers all major drug classes and include: mechanism of action, key pharmacokinetics, major therapeutic uses, and common and serious adverse effects. It incorporates relevant physiology, pathophysiology and biochemistry.

Drug Databases/Web Resources:

Orange Book: Approved Drug Products with Therapeutic Equivalence Evaluations
The Electronic Orange Book is updated daily as new generic approvals occur to provide timely consumer information on generic drugs. identifies drug products approved on the basis of safety and effectiveness by the Food and Drug Administration (FDA) under the Federal Food, Drug, and Cosmetic Act (the Act) and related patent and exclusivity information.

Drugs@FDA
more... less...

Official information about FDA approved drugs and therapeutic biological products
Search by Drug Name, Active Ingredient, or Application Number
LiverTox