EndNote Basic

From the Format tab, install the Cite While You Write Plug-In to insert references, format citations and bibliographies automatically while writing papers in Word. Use Installation Instructions appropriate for your operating system. 

When the Plug-In is installed, an EndNote tab will be available in the Word menu. Use this tab to:

1. Find citations in your EndNote Library,
2. Go to EndNote Basic,
3. Manage citations and bibliography while writing,
4. Update citations and bibliography, and
5. Change bibliography format preferences.

You may need to change the default Application with Cite While You Write. If you receive a "Class not registered" error message:

1. Open Microsoft Word.
2. Click the EndNote tab.
3. Click on Preferences. 
4. Click the Applications tab in the pop-up box.
5. Change the Application to EndNote Online.
   Enter the email address/password for you EndNote account.
6. Click OK.

From Word's EndNote tab, select the bibliographic style you wish to use. You are ready to write! 

You can Select Another Style to see the complete list of bibliographic styles (from Word's EndNote Basic tab, use the Style down arrow). 

Preselect your favorite bibliographic style to avoid scrolling through long list of available styles:

1. From EndNote Basic Format tab, select Bibliography.
2. Click Select Favorites (to right of Import Options).
3. Choose your favorites (use Ctrl+click to select more than one).
4. Copy to Favorites (may have up to 25).

This is especially helpful when in Word - the Style list will be your customized list.