Complete access to the full-text is dependent on copyright.
Google Scholar enables you to search specifically for scholarly literature, including peer-reviewed papers, theses, books, preprints, abstracts and technical reports from all broad areas of research. Use Google Scholar to find articles from a wide variety of academic publishers, professional societies, preprint repositories and universities, as well as scholarly articles available across the web.
Just as with Google Web Search, Google Scholar orders your search results by how relevant they are to your query, so the most useful references should appear at the top of the page. This relevance ranking takes into account the full text of each article as well as the article's author, the publication in which the article appeared and how often it has been cited in scholarly literature. Google Scholar also automatically analyzes and extracts citations and presents them as separate results, even if the documents they refer to are not online. This means your search results may include citations of older works and seminal articles that appear only in books or other offline publications.
Includes: Consumer Health Database, Health & Medical Collection, Healthcare Administration Database, Medline, Nursing & Allied Health Database, Psychology Database, and Public Health Database
In the medical field, access to the latest health care information is always essential, whether it's for students, researchers, medical professionals, hospital administrators, or even for patients and their families. This database addresses these diverse needs by offering a central access point to a variety of essential content.
is the premier biomedical database from the National Library of Medicine searchable from 1946 to the present. It provides coverage in the areas of allied health, biological and physical sciences, humanities and information science as they relate to medicine and health care, communication disorders, population biology, and reproductive biology.
A research methods tool created to help researchers, faculty and students with their research projects. SAGE Research Methods links over 175,000 pages of SAGE’s renowned book, journal and reference content with truly advanced search and discovery tools. Researchers can explore methods concepts to help them design research projects, understand particular methods or identify a new method, conduct their research, and write up their findings.
an abstracts and citations database of peer-reviewed literature. It allows for discovery of articles, as well as cited reference searching (number of times an article has been cited). It indexes nearly 23,000 peer-reviewed journals (including open access journals), trade journals, book series, conference proceedings, and pa-tents. Scopus is multidisciplinary, covering life and health sciences, agriculture, environment, engineering, technology, social sciences, landscape architecture, urban planning, and more.
Georgetown University Ethics Literature Repositories
Sub-communities within this community:
Archive and Special Collections (including US Bioethics Commissions)
Bioethics Literature and Resources
Publications and Materials of the Bioethics Research Library
The Bioethics Research Library of the Kennedy Institute of Ethics is home to the world’s largest and most diverse collection of materials on the ethics of health, the environment, and emerging technologies.
The goal of this and other digital collections of the Bioethics Research Library is to digitize, preserve and extend the history of bioethics. Learn more about our other collections, including rare and archival materials, here; learn more about the Kennedy Institute of Ethics, one of the world's oldest centers for applied ethics, and home to many founders of the field of bioethics, here.
These digital collections are broken down into three sub-communities, each reflecting a different area of the Library's resources. You may also search the entire community by using the search bar above.
Citations, some with abstracts or tables of contents, to literature on the ethical, legal, and social implications of genetic and genomic research and its applications from many disciplines and publication types including journals, newspapers, books, bills, laws, court decisions, reports, and audiovisuals.
National Reference Center for Bioethics Literature
The National Reference Center for Bioethics Literature (NRCBL), is a specialized collection of books, journals, newspaper articles, legal materials, regulations, codes, government publications, and other relevant documents concerned with issues in biomedical and professional ethics.
Gale Academic OneFile, provides millions of articles from over 17,000 scholarly journals and other authoritative sources and covers everything from art and literature to economics and the sciences. Also included are thousands of podcasts and videos.
Comprised of over 1 million digital images of visual material encompassing artistic and historical traditions across many time periods and cultures. Focuses on, but is not limited to, the arts. Includes architecture, painting, sculpture, photography, decorative arts, and design as well as many other forms of visual culture. Designed to be used by researchers in fields that do not traditionally use images as well as by art historians.
For social science, history, and liberal arts coursework, the Gale OneFile: Diversity Studies explores cultural differences, contributions and influences in the global community. This collection is updated daily.
The database holds annotations of works of literature, art, and film relevant to the illness experience, medical education and practice -- fiction; poetry; memoir, biography, autobiography; literary, cultural, and social criticism; visual art; film; drama. The annotations are written by an invited editorial board of scholars from all over North America.
Gale Literature Resource Center provides researchers with unbounding literary resources to support their own literary responses, literary analysis, and thesis statements through a diversity of scholars and critics that ensure all views and interpretations are represented. The database features primary works in a variety of genres, up-to-date analysis, biographical information, overviews, full-text literary criticism, and reviews that encourage interdisciplinary approaches, information literacy, and the development of critical thinking skills.
Gale Literature: LitFinder provides access to a wealth of literary works and secondary-source materials covering world literature and authors throughout history, including full-text poems and poetry citations, short stories, inaugural presidential speeches, and plays. LitFinder also contains biographies, work summaries, photographs, and a glossary. Researchers can quickly search for a particular author or identify authors linked by qualities such as gender, nationality, century, and genre using person search. Works search functions similarly, giving users the ability to browse works by thousands of subjects, themes, genres, and literary movements.
includes the renowned AGRICOLA, TOXLINE, ESPM (Environmental Sciences and Pollution Management) and Environmental Impact Statements (EIS) databases and provides full-text titles from around the world, including scholarly journals, trade and industry journals, magazines, technical reports, conference proceedings, and government publications. This database includes specialized, editorially-curated A&I resources covering such topics as the effects of pollution on people and animals and environmental action and policy responses.
Gale In Context: Environmental Studies provides users with comprehensive information regarding today’s environmental issues, empowering learners to critically analyze and understand important topics that affect people around the world. The database is updated daily with relevant content integrating case studies, news, reference materials, academic journals, videos, and more on subjects such as climate change, food security, soil ecology, and tourism. ReadSpeaker and on-demand article translation accommodates diverse backgrounds. Citation tools for formatting into MLA, APA, and Chicago style are integrated directly into the user’s workflow and can be easily imported from single or multiple documents to services like EasyBib or NoodleTools.
Gale OneFile: Environmental Studies & Policy is a digital resource that that answers inquiries about environmental concerns from diverse perspectives. The database provides access to scholarly journals, magazines, and other reference materials covering environmental issues. Exclusive features, including Topic Finder, InterLink, and a mobile-optimized interface, support and enhance the search experience.
ATSDR serves the public by using the best science, taking responsive public health actions, and providing trusted health information to prevent harmful exposures and diseases related to toxic substances.
The Toxic Release Inventory (TRI) compiles the data on toxic chemical releases and waste management activities reported annually by certain industries as well as federal facilities and makes it available through downloadable files and several data access tools. The goal of TRI is to provide communities with information about toxic chemical releases and waste management activities and to support informed decision making at all levels by industry, government, non-governmental organizations, and the public. TRI contains information on releases of nearly 650 chemicals and chemical categories from industries including manufacturing, metal and coal mining, electric utilities, and commercial hazardous waste treatment, among others.
Updated four times a year. Contains citations with abstracts to social science and humanities literature on all aspects of U.S. and Canadian history, culture and current affairs from prehistoric times to the present. Covers books, book reviews, journals and dissertations. Also reviews films and video projects. The database covers history, interdisciplinary studies of historical interest and history-related topics in the social sciences and humanities.
Providing coverage of the most searched and studied people, Gale In Context: Biography is built on a foundation of more than 650,000 biographical entries covering international figures from all time periods and areas of study. It offers authoritative reference content alongside, videos, audio selections, images, primary sources, and magazine and journal articles from hundreds of major periodicals and newspapers. Search for people based on name, occupation, nationality, ethnicity, birth/death dates and places, or gender, as well as by keyword and full text. Includes over 4,500 portal pages on contemporary and historical figures. Continuously updated to ensure users have access to the very latest information.
Updated quarterly (until completed). Contains early accounts of exploration, discovery, travel, environment, peoples, and cultures in North America. Currently contains 1,076 authors and approximately 83,000 pages of material. When complete the product will include more than 100,000 pages of letters, diaries, memoirs and accounts of early encounters. Particular care has been taken to index the material so that it can be used in new ways. For example, you can identify all encounters between the French and the Huron between 1650 and 1700. The collection is centered on present-day Canada and the United States with some limited coverage of Mexico.
Updated three - six times a year. Contains citations and abstracts of worldwide literature (excluding the United States and Canada) from approximately 2,100 journals and since 1980, books and dissertations on political, diplomatic, economic, social, cultural and intellectual history and related areas of the social sciences and humanities. Covers history dating from 1450 to the present.
Search America's historic newspaper pages from 1789-1963 or use the U.S. Newspaper Directory to find information about American newspapers published between 1690-present. Chronicling America is sponsored jointly by the National Endowment for the Humanities and the Library of Congress.
This system provides access to the nearly 60,000 images in the prints and photograph collection of the History of Medicine Division (HMD) of the U.S. National Library of Medicine (NLM). The collection includes portraits, pictures of institutions, caricatures, genre scenes, and graphic art in a variety of media, illustrating the social and historical aspects of medicine.
A multi-part printed bibliography or list of items in the Library of the Surgeon-General’s Office, U.S. Army. It contains material dated from the 1400s through 1950 and is an important resource for researchers in the history of medicine, history of science, and for clinical research.
gateway to rare, historical, and primary source materials from or about Texas. Contains archives of newspapers in addition to general archival materials for Texas.
Provides descriptions of the rich archival, manuscript, and museum collections in repositories across the state which are available to the public. Consists of the collection descriptions or "finding aids" that archives, libraries, and museums create to assist users in locating information in their collections. Consider these an extended table of contents which describe unique materials only available at the individual repositories. In most cases, the collections themselves are NOT available online.
Gale OneFile: U.S. History provides access to scholarly journals and magazines useful to researchers. Updated daily, this resource offers balanced coverage of events in U.S. history and scholarly work established in the field.
Gale OneFile: World History provides access to scholarly journals and magazines useful researchers. The database offers balanced coverage of events in world history and scholarly work established in the field.
gives basic information on the world's countires such as physical geography, governmental forms, economy and finances, climate, demography, and other statistical and objective data.
Gale OneFile: Criminal Justice informs the research process for researchers who are studying law, law enforcement, or terrorism, training for paralegal service, preparing for a career in homeland security, delving into forensic science, investigating crime scenes, developing policy, going to court, writing sociological reports, and much more.
This collection from the Defense Technical Information Center includes all unclassified, unlimited government- sponsored technical report citations since 1974. Some reports are available full-text online.
offers a database of case law from the U.S. Supreme Court and U.S. Circuit Courts of Appeal, as well as several state supreme courts. First, click on the “Cases and Codes" tab in the upper left of the home page, then click the link to "search for case summaries". Use the drop-down menus to select a court, legal topic, and/or industry. You may also search by date, docket number, and party name. FindLaw also offers a tab where you may perform a full-text search. Continuing down the screen, you may also choose to browse by selecting a court, company, or legal topic. Once you arrive at a result in FindLaw, you will be brought to a screen showing a summary of the case. At the top, right-hand side of the page, you will be able to click “Read” to gain full-text access to the case.
Covers social issues from capital punishment to immigration to marijuana. Informed, differing views help learners develop critical-thinking skills and draw their own conclusions.
Leagle, Inc. is a leading provider of copies of primary caselaw from all Federal courts and all State higher courts. Our collection is up to date within 24 hours of release of opinions from the courts and is also complete historically for all time for Federal courts and back to 1950 for state appellate and supreme courts. We add Slip Opinions daily, and Advance Sheets and Bound Volume copies as they become available. Our materials are fully copyrighted by Leagle, Inc.
Military and Intelligence provides military personnel with access to scholarly journals, magazines, and reports covering all aspects of the past and present military affairs. This resource contains content supporting key subject areas including governmental policies, the socioeconomic effects of war, and the structure of armed forces.
covers topics across all government and military branches, including international relations, political science, criminology, defense, aeronautics and space flight, communications, civil engineering, and more. An important benefit of the Military Database is its content diversity. Included are scholarly journals, trade and industry journals, magazines, technical reports, conference proceedings, government publications, and more.
Provides access to full-text news, business, and legal publications, using a variety of flexible search options.
Access over 15,000 news, business, and legal sources. The outstanding news coverage includes deep archives and up-to-the-minute stories in national and regional newspapers, wire services, broadcast transcripts, international news, and non-English language sources. Use the included Company Dossier module to retrieve detailed company information and financial performance measures or identify and compare companies matching specific criteria. This product also provides access to the renowned Shepard's Citations® service for all federal and states court cases back to 1789.
Covers issues in the public debate through selective coverage of a wide variety of international sources including journal articles, books, government documents, statistical directories, grey literature, research reports, conference papers, web content, and more. PAIS International is the current file covering 1972 to present, and PAIS Archive includes the content from printed volumes published 1915-1976.
Access thousands of newspapers and magazines, including the Houston Chronical, and Galveston Daily News. Major newspapers from Texas and across the country are available.
Presents images and database information for over 7,000 advertisements printed in U.S. and Canadian newspapers and magazines between 1911 and 1955. Funded by the Duke Endowment "Library 2000" Fund.
Concentrates on five main subject areas: Radio, Television, Transportation, Beauty and Hygiene, and World War II, providing a coherent view of a number of major campaigns and companies through images preserved in one particular advertising collection available at Duke University.
Gale OneFile: News is a full-text newspaper resource providing access to major U.S. regional, local, and national newspapers, as well as leading titles from around the world. It also includes thousands of images, radio and TV broadcasts and transcripts.
Represents the largest collection of electronic texts in philosophy and related topics in the world. Access includes following databases: Anselm: Opera Omnia, The Collected Works of St. Thomas Aquinas, The Complete Works of Aristotle, Revised Oxford Translation, edited by Jonathan Barnes, published by Princeton University Press, 1984, The Works of George Berkeley, British Philosophy 1600-1900, Works of John Calvin, The Collected Works of John Dewey, 1882-1953, The Complete Works and Selected Correspondence of David Hume, Immanuel Kant: Hauptwerke, Kierkegaard: Samlede V?er, The Philosophical Works and Selected Correspondence of John Locke, Sermons of Martin Luther, Nietzsches Werke: Historich-kritische Ausgabe, William of Ockham: The Work of Ninety Days, Oxford Classical Dictionary, The Collected Papers of Charles Sanders Peirce, The Collected Dialogues of Plato, Political Philosophy: Machiavelli to Mill, The Continental Rationalists : René Descartes, Gottfried Wilhelm von Leibniz, Benedict de Spinoza, The Works of George Santayana, The Complete Works and Select Correspondence of Henry Sidgwick, and Ludwig Wittgenstein: Published Works.
Gale OneFile: Religion and Philosophy is a comprehensive collection of periodical content covering topics across a wide range of philosophies and religions. Researchers will gain valuable insight about the impact religion has had on culture throughout history, including literature, arts, and language. Updated daily, this library resource supports a broad range of topics from theological approaches to social issues.
PsycARTICLES® is a database of full-text articles from journals published by the American Psychological Association, the APA Educational Publishing Foundation, the Canadian Psychological Association, and Hogrefe Publishing Group.
Gale OneFile: Psychology provides access to authoritative periodical content supporting research in all fields of psychology— abnormal, biological, cognitive, comparative, developmental, personality, quantitative, social and all areas of applied psychology. Researchers, psychologists, counselors, and behavioral scientists will discover relevant information from the thoughts, views, discoveries, and reports found in this comprehensive collection.
Alexander Street's Behavioral and Mental Health Online provides a comprehensive, rich, and diverse collection of video and text for anyone studying or teaching in the area of mental health. Programs in counseling, social work, nursing, psychology and behavioral health will all benefit from the wide variety of content in this collection, which includes clinical mental health demonstrations, actual therapy sessions, compelling documentaries on the human condition, psychotherapy transcripts, as well client narratives and reference works.
The Education Resources Information Center (ERIC), sponsored by the Institute of Education Sciences (IES) of the U.S. Department of Education, produces the world's premier database of journal and non-journal education literature.
Includes the complete backfile for over 200 scholarly journals, including major titles from all subject disciplines. Fields include population studies, mathematics, finance & education with dates beginning in the 19th Century.
A portal to the UK's largest collection of information on social work and social care. You can find everything from research briefings, to reports, government documents, journal articles, events and websites. Updated daily.
Updated regularly. Free access to a segment of the World Development Indicators (WDI) database, an extensive collection of data about development. This segment includes 54 timeseries indicators for 208 countries and 18 groups, spanning 5 years (1997 to 2001). You can choose several ways of displaying the data: index, percentage change, and graphs, and can export the result in standard formats.
