Allied Health/Occupational Therapy/Physical Therapy Resources

The Education Resources Information Center (ERIC), sponsored by the Institute of Education Sciences (IES) of the U.S. Department of Education, produces the world's premier database of journal and non-journal education literature. ERIC provides a public Web site for searching nearly 1.2 million citations going back to 1966 and, with contributor permission, accessing more than 110,000 full-text materials at no charge. ERIC is moving forward with its modernization program, incorporating new technologies to facilitate the addition of materials and help users identify, evaluate, and obtain education-related research and other materials.

PANCE and USMLE Review

A database that contains abstracts of systematic reviews and randomised controlled trials relevant to occupational therapy. Trials have been critically appraised and rated to assist you to evaluate their validity and interpretability. These ratings will help you to judge the quality and usefulness of trials for informing clinical interventions. In one database, OTseeker provides you with fast and easy access to trials from a wide range of sources.

Due to a lack of funding for OTseeker, content on OTseeker from 2016 and beyond is not as comprehensive as previously. Therefore, we recommend that users of OTseeker also search for more recent evidence using other freely available search engines and databases such as PEDro, and PubMed.

PEDro is the Physiotherapy Evidence Database. PEDro is a free database of over 20,000 randomized trials, systematic reviews and clinical practice guidelines in physiotherapy. For each trial, review or guideline, PEDro provides the citation details, the abstract and a link to the full text, where possible. All trials on PEDro are independently assessed for quality. These quality ratings are used to quickly guide users to trials that are more likely to be valid and to contain sufficient information to guide clinical practice. PEDro is produced by the Centre for Evidence-Based Physiotherapy at The George Institute for Global Health.

The National Library of Medicine's interface to Medline, the premier biomedical database