Zotero

My Library

• Will show all items
• If there are duplicate sources, it will show in this area
• You can have one source in multiple groups

Creating Collections

• Click "New Collection"
• Name will appear as a folder under My Library
  • Subcollection can be created by dragging and dropping a collection onto another collection
  • You can convert a subcollection by dragging the folder into empty space on the left
• Adding Items
  • You can choose which collection the item goes into through a popup
  • You can add items into an existing collection by dragging them to the collection name
  • To move individual items, you must hold down Shift (Windows) or Cmd (Mac)
  • You cannot move items out of "My Library"
• Renaming Collections
  • Right click on the collection
  • Choose "Rename Collection"
  • Collections are sorted alphabetically
• Deleting Collections
  • Right click on the collection
  • Choose "Delete Collection"
  • Deleting a collection DOES NOT DELETE the items in the collection
    • They will still appear in "My Library"
• Identifying Collection Item
  • To see all the collections a certain item is in
  • Select the specific item, hold down Control (Windows) or Option (Mac)
  • Collections containing the item will be highlighted

*Information taken from the Zotero website*

Tag Selector

• Bottom left displays tags
• Shows tags that have been assigned to the item
• To see all tags for items in the library "Display All Tags in This Library"
• Can filter items by their tags
• You can "Deselect All" to deselect all tags
• Can search for terms in the search box

Adding Tags

• Able to rename tags
• Select item you want to add a tag to
• Click "Add"
• Type tag name
• Type "Enter/Return"

Removing Tags

• Go to the "Tags" tab
• Click "-" on the right side of the tag

*Information taken from the Zotero website

Within a group you are able to:

• Share your own work or sources you have discovered with others who are working in related areas
• Collaborate with colleagues, publicly or privately, on ongoing research
• Discover other people with similar interests and the sources they are citing

Types of groups:

• Private
• Public, Closed Membership
• Public, Open membership

*Information taken from the Zotero website*

Three roles within groups:

• Regular members
• Administrators
  • Can change group's public/private status, members' roles, and library settings
• Group owners
  • Can change group's public/private status, members' roles, library settings, and transfer ownership to another member

What are library settings?

• Control the group status
  • public or private
• Library Reading 
  • Who can see items in this group's library?
    • Anyone on the internet
    • Any group member
• Library Editing
  • Who can add, edit, and remove items from this group's library?
    • Any group member
    • Only group admins
• File Editing
  • Who can work with files stored in the group? 
    • Any group member
    • Only group admins
    • No group file storage (Not available when the group is public)