Guides: Allergy and Immunology: Evidence-Based & Core Resources

Evidence-Based Point of Care

Evidence-based resources to inform clinical decision making

Essential Evidence Plus This link opens in a new window
Evidence-based, point-of-care clinical decision support system that gives you access to over 13,000 topics, guidelines, abstracts, and summaries

Cochrane Library This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Consists of the latest, up-to-date full-text of all reviews and protocols prepared by the Cochrane Collaboration, an international review group dedicated to preparing and maintaining evidenced-based materials on clinical topics.

Databases to find articles and systematic reviews

PubMed Clinical Queries
Results are limited to specific clinical research areas. Filters are available for Clinical Study (developed by Haynes RB, et al), Systematic Reviews, and Medical Genetics.
TRIP (Turning Research into Practice) Database
The TRIP Database is a meta-search engine that searches across 61 EBM sites of high-quality medical information, including online journals such as the BMJ, JAMA, NEJM.
STAT!Ref Evidence Alerts
Register for an account in STAT!Ref and set up Evidence Alerts. This value-added system provides e-mail delivery and access to evidence-based information from current research of over 130 premier clinical journals.
more...less...
The STAT!Ref Evidence Alerts system works with McMaster PLUS delivering pre-rated EBM alerts that are qualified, then rated for clinical relevance and newsworthiness by a panel of practicing physicians. Categories include Medicine, Nursing and Rehab.

Clinically relevant article databases and electronic book packages

PubMed (Medline)
- This link opens in a new window
The National Library of Medicine's interface to Medlline, the premier biomedical database searchable from 1947 to the present.
more...less...
It provides coverage in the areas of allied health, biological and physical sciences, humanities and information science as they relate to medicine and health care, communication disorders, population biology, and reproductive biology.

Medline (Ovid) This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
is the premier biomedical database from the National Library of Medicine searchable from 1946 to the present. It provides coverage in the areas of allied health, biological and physical sciences, humanities and information science as they relate to medicine and health care, communication disorders, population biology, and reproductive biology.
CINAHL Plus with Full Text This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Covers nursing, biomedicine, health sciences librarianship, consumer health and 17 allied health disciplines.
Covers nursing, biomedicine, health sciences librarianship, consumer health and 17 allied health disciplines. Indexes over 650 journal titles, audiovisual materials, computer programs, dissertations, books and book chapters.
Access Medicine This link opens in a new window
Online access to more than 100 medical titles from McGraw Hill. Includes images, illustrations, interactive self-assessment, case files, diagnostic tools, and the ability to download content to a mobile device.

Harrison's Online
more...less...
Harrison's Principles of Internal Medicine, Electronic Book, coursebook for School of Medicine, School of Nursing

Clinical Key This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
A personal account is required to access book PDFs, Presentation Maker, and other personalized features.
STAT!Ref This link opens in a new window
Full-text of more than 80 medical and nursing texts
UpToDate This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window

Clinical Key - Guidelines
AHRQ Clinical Guidelines and Recommendations
CDC Guidelines
ECRI Guidelines Trust
Guideline Central
more...less...
Guideline Central is currently working with a handful of other organizations to establish a new non-profit initiative which will aim to fill the gap left by the sudden closure of AHRQ’s National Guideline Clearinghouse (NGC). This new initiative will include a database of quick-reference guideline summaries, along with a focus on developing a repository of various guideline implementation tools (including machine-computable guidelines for EHRs). This new database will be made available to all healthcare providers in both web and mobile app formats, and will be available for FREE.
USPSTF Recommendations for Primary Care Practice

Reference Librarians are available Monday-Friday, 8am - 5pm

Call: 409-772-2372
Text: 409-433-9976
Email
(askus [at] utmb [dot] libanswers [dot] com)
Schedule an Appointment