Guides: Systematic Reviews: Role of the Librarian

How to Credit the Librarian

Consultation: Not Necessary to Credit the Librarians	Acknowledgement: Acknowledge by Name or as UTMB Reference Librarian	Co-Author: Listed as Co-Author on Published Review
Basic Overview of Systematic Review Process Provide Links/Resources to Help with Systematic Review Brief Overview of Searching & Selecting Relevant Databases Generating Key Terms to Use for Search Reviewing a Search Strategy Recommend Tools to Help with Systematic Review	Develop Comprehensive Search Strategy Translate Search Strategy to Multiple Databases Provide Team with Necessary Relevant Search Information for Methods Section	Write-Up Search Strategy for Methods Section of Systematic Review Manuscript Help Prepare Manuscript for Submission to Journals for Publication

Standard 3.1 - Conduct a comprehensive systematic search for evidence

Required Elements:

3.1.1 - Work with a librarian to plan the search strategy

3.1.2 - Design the search strategy to address the key research question

3.1.3 - Use an independent librarian to peer review the search strategy

3.1.4 - Search bibliographic databases

3.1.5 - Search citation databases

3.1.6 - Search literature cited by eligible studies

3.1.7 - Update the search at intervals appropriate to the pace of generation of new information for the question

3.1.8 - Search subject specific databases, if other databases are unlikely to provide all relevant evidence

3.1.9 - Search regional bibliographic databases, if other databases are unlikely to provide all relevant evidence