Guides: Polar Medical Operations: Home

Ask a Librarian

Reference Librarians are available Monday-Friday, 8am - 5pm

Call: 409-772-2372
Text: 409-433-9976
Email
(askus [at] utmb [dot] libanswers [dot] com)
Schedule an Appointment

Request a Search

Quick Links

Request It
Use to get articles or books not available at UTMB

UTMB Links

O365 Mail (Webmail)
All Microsoft Office 365 Applications
Outlook, Sharepoint, OneDrive, Word, etc.
VPN Information Page
How to set up VPN for UTMB

UTMB Links - VPN Required

Selected Ebooks and Chapters

Ebooks

Auerbach's Wilderness Medicine, 2-Volume Set by Paul S. Auerbach; Tracy A. Cushing; N. Stuart Harris
ISBN: 9780323359429
Publication Date: 2017

Book Chapters

Ch 11 Polar Medicine
IN Auerbach's Wilderness Medicine
Ch 7 Accidental Hypothermia
IN Auerbach's Wilderness Medicine
Ch 8 Immersion into Cold Water
IN Auerbach's Wilderness Medicine
Ch 9 Nonfreezing Cold-Induced Injuries
IN Auerbach's Wilderness Medicine
Ch 1 High-Altitude Physiology
IN Auerbach's Wilderness Medicine
Ch 2 High-Altitude Medicine and Pathophysiology
IN Auerbach's Wilderness Medicine
Ch 3 High Altitude and Preexisting Medical Conditions
IN Auerbach's Wilderness Medicine

Ebook Packages

Access Medicine This link opens in a new window
includes Harrison's, Current Medical Diagnosis and Treatment, Current Diagnosis and Treatment Surgery, Schwartz's Principles of Surgery, and more
Online access to more than 100 medical titles from McGraw Hill. Includes images, illustrations, interactive self-assessment, case files, diagnostic tools, and the ability to download content to a mobile device.
Clinical Key This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
A personal account is required to access book PDFs, Presentation Maker, and other personalized features.

Selected Reources

PubMed (Medline) This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Custom UTMB link which include the Find It @UTMB button
The National Library of Medicine's interface to Medline, the premier biomedical database
UpToDate This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Lexidrug This link opens in a new window
Formerly called Lexicomp
Lexidrug is a collection of content sets and clinical tools that provides users with robust clinical drug information.

Library Resources with Apps

Some Library resources simply use "mobile friendly" interfaces to allow access on mobile devices. Others have developed apps to facilitate access.

Access Medicine - Apple
more...less...
Before you download the Access Medicine app, you must first create a My Access account in Access Medicine. If you don't have a My Access account, then begin with Step 1 below. If you already have a My Access account, then skip to Step 6 below.

1. Visit www.accessmedicine.com when you are within UTMB's network.
2. Click the arrow next to University of Texas Medical Branch at the top of the page.
3. Click on "Sign in or Create a Free MyAccess Profile".
4. Click on "Create a Free MyAccess Profile".
5. Enter required data and click "Create Profile" at the bottom.
6. Search the App store for "AccessMedicine" and download app.
7. When prompted, login using your MyAccess credentials.

*For continued access to the app, the user must have an active MyAccess account and sign in every 90 days through UTMB's network, either on-site or through a VPN.
Access Medicine - Android
more...less...
Before you download the Access Medicine app, you must first create a My Access account in Access Medicine. If you don't have a My Access account, then begin with Step 1 below. If you already have a My Access account, then skip to Step 6 below.

1. Visit www.accessmedicine.com when you are within UTMB's network.
2. Click the arrow next to University of Texas Medical Branch at the top of the page.
3. Click on "Sign in or Create a Free MyAccess Profile".
4. Click on "Create a Free MyAccess Profile".
5. Enter required data and click "Create Profile" at the bottom.
6. Search the App store for "AccessMedicine" and download app.
7. When prompted, login using your MyAccess credentials.

*For continued access to the app, the user must have an active MyAccess account and sign in every 90 days through UTMB's network, either on-site or through a VPN.

BrowZine This link opens in a new window
journal reading management application developed by ThirdIron and accessible through the UTMB Moody Medical Library subscription. It allows you to pull together journals you are interested in and access them through an iOS or Android mobile app, or a web interface. It interacts with full text subscriptions from hte Library by providing easy access to our full text content. While Browzine covers most of the major publishers, not all journals are represented. You can also request Browzine add a journal if it is not listed. Browzine maintains a list of current journal requests so you can search a journal, vote for an existing request, or add a request of your own.

Clinical Key- Android
Users will need to create a personal account and apply for remote access on website (On-Campus or VPN) before using app.
Clinical Key- Apple
Users will need to create a personal account and apply for remote access on website (On-Campus or VPN) before using app.
Natural Medicines Database - Apple
Must register for a CE ID in the web version in order to activate the app.
more...less...
Resource for unbiased, scientific clinical information on complementary, alternative, and integrative therapies
Psychiatry Online - Pairing Mobile Device
more...less...
Pair the mobile friendly site with your phone/tablet - no app installation required
PubMed for Handhelds
more...less...
Includes 6 components: askMEDLINE, txt2MEDLINE, PICO, The Bottom Line, Consensus Abstracts, and Clinical Decision Support
STAT!-Ref
more...less...
Android/Apple. Create a "My STAT!Ref Account" on the web version and click on "Temporary Login Account" to make the app work.
UpToDate - Apple
more...less...
Create an UpToDate account online and use those same credentials to access the mobile app
UpToDate - Android
more...less...
Create an UpToDate account online and use those same credentials to access the mobile app.