Guides: Instruments and Scales for Research, Education and Clinical Practice: Using Databases to Find Tests and Scales

Databases for Instruments, Scales, etc.

These databases will provide information about the instruments, including articles about the validity/reliability.

Health & Psychosocial Instruments (HaPI)

Bibliographic access and descriptions of tests, manuals, rating scales and other instruments used to assess health and behavior.
HaPI does not offer access to the test instruments themselves, but includes citations to freestanding instruments as well as instruments that have only appeared in journal or technical reports (published and unpublished). Copyright permission is needed to use any of the instruments found in HaPI.

Finding Measurement Instruments in Databases

CINAHL

The Comprehensive Index to Nursing and Allied Health Literature or CINAHL sometimes has tests and measures on a variety of health and mental health topics. You can find both reviews of instruments and sometimes the instrument appended by using the field code IN for instrumentation in the search box with a topic for the measurement. E.g. IN sorrow.

CINAHL Plus with Full Text
Covers nursing, biomedicine, health sciences librarianship, consumer health and 17 allied health disciplines. Indexes over 650 journal titles, audiovisual materials, computer programs, dissertations, books and book chapters.

PsycInfo

Expert Tip: PsycINFO Expert Tip: Finding the Tests in PsycINFO – APA Publishing Blog (apapubs.org)

PsycINFO (Ovid)

Covers the professional and academic literature in psychology and related disciplines