Guides: ICCS: Home

Links Used in Class

Compare and contrast the resources below. Consider:

Entries on Peptic Ulcer Disease:

The patient mentioned his son suggested he take mastic to help with his stomach.

Explore a MedlinePlus entry. How could you use this? How would it be useful for patients?

Databases

PubMed (Medline) This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
The National Library of Medicine's interface to Medline, the premier biomedical database
PsycINFO (Ovid) This link opens in a new window
Covers the professional and academic literature in psychology and related disciplines
Scopus This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
an abstracts and citations database of peer-reviewed literature. It allows for discovery of articles, as well as cited reference searching (number of times an article has been cited). It indexes nearly 23,000 peer-reviewed journals (including open access journals), trade journals, book series, conference proceedings, and pa-tents. Scopus is multidisciplinary, covering life and health sciences, agriculture, environment, engineering, technology, social sciences, landscape architecture, urban planning, and more.

Journals

JAMA & Archives This link opens in a new window
Journal of the American Medical Association
Includes JAMA and the specialty Archives Journals, published by the American Medical Association
NEJM This link opens in a new window
New England Journal of Medicine

Systematic Reviews

Cochrane Library This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Consists of the latest, up-to-date full-text of all reviews and protocols prepared by the Cochrane Collaboration, an international review group dedicated to preparing and maintaining evidenced-based materials on clinical topics.

EBM Sources or Pre-Appraised Information

Essential Evidence Plus This link opens in a new window
Evidence-based, point-of-care clinical decision support system that gives you access to over 13,000 topics, guidelines, abstracts, and summaries

Medical Search Engine or Web Sites

MedlinePlus This link opens in a new window
MedlinePlus is the National Library of Medicine's web site for consumer health information. MedlinePlus has extensive information from the National Institutes of Health and other trusted sources on over 650 diseases and conditions.

SumSearch
simultaneously searches for original studies, systematic reviews, and practice guidelines from PubMed

Optional exercises are available if you would like more practice searching PubMed.

Scenario A
After completing the search exercise, complete the self-assessment linked below. View your search history on the Advanced search page in PubMed to answer the questions in the self-assessment

Self-Evaluation - Scenario A
Please complete after you complete the search exercise
Go the the Advanced page in PubMed to see your search history to answer the questions in this self assessment

Scenario B
After completing the search exercise, complete the self-assessment linked below. View your search history on the Advanced search page in PubMed to answer the questions in the self-assessment

Self-Evaluation - Scenario B
Please complete after you complete the search exercise
Go the the Advanced page in PubMed to see your search history to answer the questions in this self assessment