JSSOM - Medical Ed - John Sealy School of Medicine - Guides at Moody Medical Library, The University of Texas Medical Branch

Course Pages

Courses - Year 1

META: Mindfully Evolving, Thriving & Advocating
by Julie Trumble Last Updated Apr 22, 2024 187 views this year
Gross Anatomy/Radiology (GAR)
by Julie Trumble Last Updated Apr 22, 2024 761 views this year
Molecules, Cells, and Tissues
by Julie Trumble Last Updated Apr 22, 2024 967 views this year
Pathobiology and Host Defense
by Julie Trumble Last Updated Apr 22, 2024 22540 views this year
Neuroscience and Human Behavior
by Julie Trumble Last Updated Apr 22, 2024 16906 views this year
Practice of Medicine - Year 1
by Julie Trumble Last Updated Apr 22, 2024 2311 views this year

Courses - Year 2

Cardiovascular/Pulmonary
by Julie Trumble Last Updated Apr 22, 2024 265 views this year
Renal, Fluids, and Electrolytes (RFE)
by Julie Trumble Last Updated Apr 22, 2024 222 views this year
Gastrointestinal/Nutrition (GIN)
by Julie Trumble Last Updated Apr 22, 2024 597 views this year
Endocrinology and Reproduction Course
by Julie Trumble Last Updated Apr 22, 2024 7794 views this year
Dermatology/ Hematology/ Musculoskeletal
by Julie Trumble Last Updated Apr 22, 2024 6121 views this year
Practice of Medicine - Year 2
by Julie Trumble Last Updated Apr 22, 2024 426 views this year

Medline

PubMed (Medline) This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
The National Library of Medicine's interface to Medline, the premier biomedical database
Medline Ovid This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
is the premier biomedical database from the National Library of Medicine searchable from 1946 to the present. It provides coverage in the areas of allied health, biological and physical sciences, humanities and information science as they relate to medicine and health care, communication disorders, population biology, and reproductive biology.

UpToDate

UpToDate This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window

EBook Packages

Most Used

Access Medicine This link opens in a new window
Online access to more than 100 medical titles from McGraw Hill. Includes images, illustrations, interactive self-assessment, case files, diagnostic tools, and the ability to download content to a mobile device.
AccessPhysiotherapy This link opens in a new window
Integrates leading physical therapy textbooks, procedure and exercise videos, image galleries, self-assessment tools, and a unique cadaver dissection tool.

Harrison's Online
more...less...
Harrison's Principles of Internal Medicine, Electronic Book, coursebook for School of Medicine, School of Nursing

Books@Ovid This link opens in a new window
Over 400 titles on the Ovid platform.
Clinical Key - Ebooks This link opens in a new window
A personal account is required to access book PDFs, Presentation Maker, and other personalized features.
FA Davis PT Collection This link opens in a new window Physical Therapy Collection
LWW Health Library - Medical Education This link opens in a new window
Interactive online access via LWWHealthLibrary.com to over 50 textbooks on core/fundamental topics, plus procedural videos, images, real-life case studies, and quiz banks for medical and health science students and practitioners. Includes Bates' Guide to Physical Examination and History Taking, 12e, and Clinically Oriented Anatomy, 8e.
LWW Health Library - Occupational Therapy This link opens in a new window
STAT!Ref This link opens in a new window
Full-text of more than 80 medical and nursing texts
Mental Measurements Yearbook with Tests in Print This link opens in a new window
provides users with a comprehensive guide to over 2,000 contemporary testing instruments
PsychiatryOnline Books & Journals This link opens in a new window
Access to selected journals, textbooks and the DSM 5 from American Psychiatric Publishing
Mobile Access Instructions
R2 Library This link opens in a new window
electronic books in the health sciences
Springer eBooks This link opens in a new window

Other Ebook Packages

Ebook Central This link opens in a new window
Formerly called ebrary
ebooks from scholarly sources, including University Presses and other top publishers
eBook Collection - EBSCO This link opens in a new window
Provides access to full-text scholarly, reference and professional eBooks from leading university, academic and professional publishers
Gale Ebooks This link opens in a new window
A database of encyclopedias, almanacs, and specialized reference sources.
NCBI Bookshelf This link opens in a new window
Contains a collection of full-text books that can be searched online and that are linked to PubMed records through research paper citations within the text. The collection includes biomedical textbooks, other scientific titles, the NCBI News, and NCBI help manuals.

Drug Information

Resources for finding relevant drug information

Lexicomp This link opens in a new window
Lexicomp is a collection of content sets and clinical tools that provides users with robust clinical drug information.
Natural Medicines This link opens in a new window
authoritative resource on dietary supplements, natural medicines, and complementary alternative and integrative therapies

Books:

AHFS Drug Information
more...less...
An unbiased, evaluated source for drug information from the American Society of Health System Pharmacists (in STAT!Ref)

Drugs in Pregnancy and Lactation by Alicia B. Forinash; Roger K. Freeman; Craig V. Towers; Gerald G. Briggs
ISBN: 9781496349620
Publication Date: 2017
Red Book 2021-2024: Report of the Committee on Infectious Diseases, 32nd edition by David W. Kimberlin (Editor); Elizabeth Barnett (Associate Editor); Ruth Lynfield (Associate Editor); Mark H. Sawyer (Associate Editor)
ISBN: 9781610025218
Publication Date: 2021
Elsevier's 2024 Intravenous Medications, 40th edition by Shelly Rainforth Collins
ISBN: 9780443118838
Publication Date: 2024

Pharmacology:

Pharmacology World
more...less...
A video series to help master the key concepts of pharmacology. It covers all major drug classes and include: mechanism of action, key pharmacokinetics, major therapeutic uses, and common and serious adverse effects. It incorporates relevant physiology, pathophysiology and biochemistry.

Drug Databases/Web Resources:

Orange Book: Approved Drug Products with Therapeutic Equivalence Evaluations This link opens in a new window
The Electronic Orange Book is updated daily as new generic approvals occur to provide timely consumer information on generic drugs. identifies drug products approved on the basis of safety and effectiveness by the Food and Drug Administration (FDA) under the Federal Food, Drug, and Cosmetic Act (the Act) and related patent and exclusivity information.

Drugs@FDA
more...less...
Official information about FDA approved drugs and therapeutic biological products
Search by Drug Name, Active Ingredient, or Application Number
LiverTox

Images and Videos

Many of the Library's ebook packages and other electronic resources have an image or multimedia search feature. It is usually located on the Advanced Search page, although some resources may also have a link to the images/multimedia in the navigation across the top of the page. Our Images guide also provides tips and tricks for locating images on the Internet that can be re-used without copyright concerns.

Sources for Images

Access Medicine This link opens in a new window
Online access to more than 100 medical titles from McGraw Hill. Includes images, illustrations, interactive self-assessment, case files, diagnostic tools, and the ability to download content to a mobile device.
Clinical Key - Multimedia This link opens in a new window
Search for images and other multimedia found in materials in the Clinical Key package. The Presentation Maker feature will automatically generate PowerPoint slides with the appropriate citation for the image.

To use images in a poster, publication, or for any other similar use, permission must be requested through the Elsevier Rights Department.
WebPath This link opens in a new window
contains over 5000 images with text that demonstrate gross and microscopic pathologic findings along with radiologic imaging associated with human disease conditions.

Sources for Videos

Alexander Street Press: Academic Video Online This link opens in a new window
62,000 video titles spanning the widest range of subject areas including anthropology, business, counseling, film, health, history, music, and more.
Bates' Visual Guide to Physical Examination This link opens in a new window
Delivers head-to-toe and systems-based physical examination techniques. The site features more than 8 hours of video content.
Counseling and Therapy in Video This link opens in a new window
provides the largest and richest online collection of video available for the study of counseling, social work, psychotherapy, psychology, and psychiatric counseling
JoVE Biology This link opens in a new window
JoVE Biology publishes standard techniques and novel experimental approaches in the fields of cellular, molecular, and organismal biology aimed at understanding the functions of life and living organisms.
NEJM Figures and Mulitmedia This link opens in a new window
New England Journal of Medicine
Provides access to the New England Journal of Medicine Videos in Clinical Medicine

Consumer Health - Library Databases

Gale Ebooks This link opens in a new window
A database of encyclopedias, almanacs, and specialized reference sources.
Gale OneFile: Health and Medicine This link opens in a new window
Created specifically for students, knowledgeable consumer health researchers and health care professionals, Health Reference Center Academic integrates tens of millions of articles from a wide range of full-text nursing and allied health journals, magazines, newsletters and select consumer health information sources with full-text reference works and thousands of health-related multimedia assets, all available 24/7 through an intuitive, state-of-the-art platform with daily content updates.
Gale in Context: Science This link opens in a new window
Provides contextual information on hundreds of today's most significant science topics. Draws students into the subject matter, showing how scientific disciplines relate to real-world issues, from weather patterns to obesity.

These resources can be used by anyone on the UTMB campus. Off-campus access is restricted to those with a UTMB email username/password.

Ask a Librarian

Reference Librarians are available Monday-Friday, 8am - 5pm

Call: 409-772-2372
Text: 409-433-9976
Email
(askus [at] utmb [dot] libanswers [dot] com)
Schedule an Appointment

Request a Search

Interactive Anatomy Resources - Anatomy.TV

Anatomy.TV (Premier Human Anatomy) This link opens in a new window
covers a full range of intuitive and accurate 3D anatomy, functional anatomy, clinical and specialty titles

Anatomy.TV Product Information Videos
Human Anatomy Modules - Access Medicine
Interactive modules allow for visualization of the human body in an interactive, 3D format where both male and female anatomy modules can be viewed.

Biomedical Reference - Background Questions

Stedman's Medical Dictionary by Thomas Lathrop Stedman
Call Number: W 13 S812m 2006 (Reserve)
ISBN: 9780781733908
Publication Date: 2016
Merriam-Webster's Medical Dictionary by Merriam-Webster
ISBN: 0877792941
Who Named It.com: Dictionary of Medical Eponyms by Ole Daniel Enersen
Publication Date: no date
Manual of Laboratory and Diagnostic Tests by Frances Talaska Fischbach; Margaret A. Fischbach
Call Number: QY 25 F528m 2009 (Reserve)
ISBN: 9781496377128
Publication Date: 2018
Bates' Visual Guide to Physical Examination - Videos by Lynn S. Bickley
ISBN: 9781496398178
Publication Date: 2021
Netter's Orthopaedic Clinical Examination by Joshua Cleland; Shane Koppenhaver; Jonathan Su
ISBN: 9780323695336
Publication Date: 2022
Diagnosaurus by Access Medicine
Differential Diagnosis in Primary Care by Nairah Rasul and Mehmood Syed
ISBN: 9781444391244
Publication Date: 2010
Big Picture: Gross Anatomy, Medical Course & Step 1 Review, 2nd edition by David A. Morton; Kurt H. Albertine; K. Bo Foreman
ISBN: 9781259862632
Publication Date: 2018
Includes multimedia
Netter's Clinical Anatomy, 5th edition by John T. Hansen
ISBN: 9780323826624
Publication Date: 2023
Human Brain: Prenatal Development and Structure by Miguel Marín-Padilla
ISBN: 9783642147241
Publication Date: 2011
DSM-5 (Diagnostic and Statistical Manual of Mental Disorders), 5th edition by American Psychiatric Association Staff
ISBN: 9780890425541
Publication Date: 2013
Mental Measurements Yearbook by Buros Buros Institute
Call Number: BF 431 B967m 2010 (4th floor)
ISBN: 9780910674638
Publication Date: 1949-2010
Robbins and Kumar Basic Pathology by Vinay Kumar (Editor); Abul Abbas (Editor); Jon C. Aster (Editor); Andrea T. Deyrup (Editor)
ISBN: 9780323790185
Publication Date: 2023

Evidence-Based Point of Care

Evidence-based resources to inform clinical decision making

Essential Evidence Plus This link opens in a new window
Evidence-based, point-of-care clinical decision support system that gives you access to over 13,000 topics, guidelines, abstracts, and summaries

Clinical Overviews (in Clinical Key)

Find Evidence-Based Articles & Systematic Reviews

Cochrane Library This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Consists of the latest, up-to-date full-text of all reviews and protocols prepared by the Cochrane Collaboration, an international review group dedicated to preparing and maintaining evidenced-based materials on clinical topics.

Databases to find articles and systematic reviews

PubMed Clinical Queries
Results are limited to specific clinical research areas. Filters are available for Clinical Study (developed by Haynes RB, et al), Systematic Reviews, and Medical Genetics.
TRIP Database
A clinical search tool designed to allow health professionals to rapidly identify the highest quality clinical evidence for clinical practice.
STAT!Ref Evidence Alerts
Register for an account in STAT!Ref and set up Evidence Alerts. This value-added system provides e-mail delivery and access to evidence-based information from current research of over 130 premier clinical journals.
more...less...
The STAT!Ref Evidence Alerts system works with McMaster PLUS delivering pre-rated EBM alerts that are qualified, then rated for clinical relevance and newsworthiness by a panel of practicing physicians. Categories include Medicine, Nursing and Rehab.

Consumer Health - Core Web Sites

Centers for Disease Control
more...less...
Part of the U.S Department of Health and Human Services, the CDC works to prevent and control disease, injury, and disability. This searchable site is rich in information and colorfully illustrated. Information is also available in Spanish.

ClinicalTrials.Gov This link opens in a new window
ClinicalTrials.gov provides regularly updated information about federally and privately supported clinical research in human volunteers.

FamilyDoctor.org
more...less...
Find clear and concise information sheets for common medical concerns and conditions written and reviewed by professionals at the American Academy of Family Physicians. Other helpful features include a medical dictionary, health calculators, a Smart Patient guide, and Spanish translations.

Healthfinder.gov This link opens in a new window
A government Web site where you will find information and tools to help you and those you care about stay healthy.

KidsHealth
more...less...
Find information about health, behavior, and development from birth through the teen years. There are articles written specifically for parents, children, and teenagers.
Lab Tests Online
more...less...
Improve your understanding of the many clinical lab tests that are part of routine care as well as diagnosis and treatment. Find answers to common questions and summaries of tests and explanations of results.
Mayo Clinic
more...less...
A nonprofit organization committed to clinical practice, education and research, providing expert, whole-person care to everyone who needs healing.

MedlinePlus This link opens in a new window
MedlinePlus is the National Library of Medicine's web site for consumer health information. MedlinePlus has extensive information from the National Institutes of Health and other trusted sources on over 650 diseases and conditions.
MedlinePlus en Español This link opens in a new window
Spanish language version of MedlinePlus. MedlinePlus is the National Library of Medicine's web site for consumer health information. It provides links to reliable health information for consumers and health professionals. MedlinePlus has extensive information from the National Institutes of Health and other trusted sources on over 650 diseases and conditions.
MedlinePlus: Complementary and Alternative Therapies Topics This link opens in a new window
Links to a variety of CAM topics and reliable Internet resources.
MedlinePlus: Drug, Supplements, and Herbal Information This link opens in a new window
Prescription and over-the-counter medication information is from MedMaster, a product of the American Society of Health-System Pharmacists (ASHP) and USP DI® Advice for the Patient® , a product of the United States Pharmacopeia (USP).
For additional drug information, see the MedlinePlus drug therapy topic pages. Information on herbs and supplements from Natural Standard©.

NIH Clinical Trials and You
more...less...
Clinical trials look at new ways to prevent, detect, or treat diseases. The goal of clinical trials is to determine if a new clinical trial or treatment works and is safe. Healthy volunteers participate in order to help others and to move science forward. Find out how to find a clinical trial if you are interested in participating.
NIH Consumer Health
more...less...
Health information from the NIH including understanding medical research and tips for staying healthy.
NORD: National Organization for Rare Disorders
more...less...
NORD provides reports in patient-friendly language about more than 1,200 rare diseases along with research and support group information. Free registration allows for two free disease reports in a day.
Patient Education Center - Harvard
more...less...
Regularly updated information on more than 500 medical topics, explaining symptoms, conditions, diseases, medications, and diagnostic procedures.
Health - NCBI
more...less...
NCBI's Health resources include databases for use in clinical practice and medical research that contain information about human disease and pathology, including diagnostics and treatments.

UTMB Health Resource Center This link opens in a new window

UpToDate for Patients
more...less...
Patients have access to this comprehensive database to learn more about medical conditions, management and treatment options, and ways to have a better dialogue with health care providers.

Bates

Bates Videos

Bates' Visual Guide to Physical Examination - Videos by Lynn S. Bickley
ISBN: 9781496398178
Publication Date: 2021

Bates Books

Bates' Guide to Physical Examination and History Taking, 13th edition by Lynn S. Bickley
ISBN: 9781496398178
Publication Date: 2021
Bates' Pocket Guide to Physical Examination and History Taking, 9th edition by Lynn S. Bickley
ISBN: 9781975109875
Publication Date: 2021

Exam Review - USMLE and PANCE

StatPearls This link opens in a new window
Provides test banks for NCLEX-RN; PANCE/PANRE and other PA test banks; USMLE Step 1, Step 2, Step 3, Radiology Technology, and Family Medicine
Also includes test banks for EMS-EMT, LPN LVN NCLEX PN, and Pharmacy
Exam Master This link opens in a new window
PANCE and USMLE Review
Review for USMLE (step 1, 2, 3); PANCE/PANRE; Medical Subject Reviews, and Medical Certification. Click for Quick Guide.

Review Questions in Access Medicine
Choose from Basic Sciences or Clinical Practice & Board Review
Create an Access Medicine account to use this feature (Sign In> Sign in or Create a Free MyAccess Profile)
more...less...
Select a category, the select a book from which to generate multiple choice quizzes

Pharmacology Videos

Pharmacology World
more...less...
A video series to help master the key concepts of pharmacology. It covers all major drug classes and include: mechanism of action, key pharmacokinetics, major therapeutic uses, and common and serious adverse effects. It incorporates relevant physiology, pathophysiology and biochemistry.
Pharmacology Lecture Videos - Access Medicine
Table of Contents Page for Videos linked below
This page includes "View in Context" links to go to reading material pertaining to the video

USMLE - Outlines/Supporting Material

JAMA Article Series

JAMA - Rational Clinical Examination
Access to the series of articles in JAMA on the Rational Clinical Examination.
JAMA - Articles on the Users' Guide to the Medical Literature
Access to the series of JAMA articles on evidence-based medicine.

Helpful Web Sites

American College of Cardiology
American Medical Association
American Society of Microbiology
Cells Alive
Centers for Disease Control & Prevention
more...less...
Part of the U.S Department of Health and Human Services, the CDC works to prevent and control disease, injury, and disability. This searchable site is rich in information and colorfully illustrated. Information is also available in Spanish.
European Society of Cardiology - Guidelines
Good Rx- Drug Price Comparison
Health Statistics on the Web - guide
Lieberman's eRadiology

MedlinePlus This link opens in a new window
MedlinePlus is the National Library of Medicine's web site for consumer health information. MedlinePlus has extensive information from the National Institutes of Health and other trusted sources on over 650 diseases and conditions.

Medical Mnemonics
National Asthma Education and Prevention Program
Pathology Guy
Tachycardia-induced Cardiomyopathy
Winking Skull: Human Anatomy Study Aid
create an account to gain access
more...less...
WinkingSkull.com FREE
Sample the site with free access to:

More than 250 full-color illustrations from selected tiles;
Over 50 self-test questions and answers from selected titles;

UTMB Links

Blackboard
O365 Mail (Webmail)
MyStar
Academic Calendars (SOM)
Academic Advancement Policies (SOM)
Section 6 - Student Absence Policy
Instructional Management Office
John Sealy School of Medicine
Professionalism at UTMB
Field House
Student Health
Student Life

Moody Medical Library

library.utmb.edu

John Sealy School of Medicine: JSSOM - Medical Ed