Guides: Distance Education and the Library: Home

Campus Quick Links

Core

Most Used

Ovid (Medline) This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Ovid's interface to Medline, the premier biomedical database
PubMed (Medline) This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
The National Library of Medicine's interface to Medline, the premier biomedical database
CINAHL Plus with Full Text This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Covers nursing, biomedicine, health sciences librarianship, consumer health and 17 allied health disciplines. Indexes over 650 journal titles, audiovisual materials, computer programs, dissertations, books and book chapters.
Cochrane Library This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Consists of the latest, up-to-date full-text of all reviews and protocols prepared by the Cochrane Collaboration, an international review group dedicated to preparing and maintaining evidenced-based materials on clinical topics.
Clinical Key This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
A personal account is required to access book PDFs, Presentation Maker, and other personalized features.
PsycINFO (Ovid) This link opens in a new window
Covers the professional and academic literature in psychology and related disciplines
Scopus This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
an abstracts and citations database of peer-reviewed literature. It allows for discovery of articles, as well as cited reference searching (number of times an article has been cited). It indexes nearly 23,000 peer-reviewed journals (including open access journals), trade journals, book series, conference proceedings, and pa-tents. Scopus is multidisciplinary, covering life and health sciences, agriculture, environment, engineering, technology, social sciences, landscape architecture, urban planning, and more.
UpToDate This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window

Citation Management

EndNote Basic This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Mendeley This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Mendeley is a free reference manager and academic social network.

Zotero
- This link opens in a new window

Additional Core Resources

Clinical Skills (formerly Mosby's Nursing Skills) This link opens in a new window
NOTE to Nursing Students: This version has the videos but not the assessment piece you are required to have.
Essential Evidence Plus This link opens in a new window
Evidence-based, point-of-care clinical decision support system that gives you access to over 13,000 topics, guidelines, abstracts, and summaries
Health & Psychosocial Instruments (HaPI) This link opens in a new window
Bibliographic access and descriptions of tests, manuals, rating scales and other instruments used to assess health and behavior.
HaPI does not offer access to the test instruments themselves, but includes citations to freestanding instruments as well as instruments that have only appeared in journal or technical reports (published and unpublished). Copyright permission is needed to use any of the instruments found in HaPI.
Health Research Premium Collection - ProQuest This link opens in a new window
Includes: Consumer Health Database, Health & Medical Collection, Healthcare Administration Database, Medline, Nursing & Allied Health Database, Psychology Database, and Public Health Database

In the medical field, access to the latest health care information is always essential, whether it's for students, researchers, medical professionals, hospital administrators, or even for patients and their families. This database addresses these diverse needs by offering a central access point to a variety of essential content.
SciFinder (Chemical Abstracts) This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Provides comprehensive indexing of chemical literature from 1907-present
BrowZine This link opens in a new window
journal reading management application developed by ThirdIron and accessible through the UTMB Moody Medical Library subscription. It allows you to pull together journals you are interested in and access them through an iOS or Android mobile app, or a web interface. It interacts with full text subscriptions from hte Library by providing easy access to our full text content. While Browzine covers most of the major publishers, not all journals are represented. You can also request Browzine add a journal if it is not listed. Browzine maintains a list of current journal requests so you can search a journal, vote for an existing request, or add a request of your own.

Databases by Subject

Complementary and Alternative Medicine Resources

Natural Medicines This link opens in a new window
authoritative resource on dietary supplements, natural medicines, and complementary alternative and integrative therapies

Connect to Library Resources from Off-Campus

Using Library resources from off-campus is almost identical to on-campus access, as long as you start from the Library's home page. When you are off-campus, the first time a resource is used, you will be prompted to log in with your UTMB email username and password. The system should remember your login information for subsequent resources as long as you do not close your browser. Make sure you are using the Library's web page to access resources so you can be prompted to login.

Watch a video to see how to login from off-campus.

Note: If you have problems with your UTMB email username and password, contact the IS Help Desk at:

Galveston: 409-772-5200
Houston: 281-554-1577
Elsewhere: 1-888-898-2401

Using the VPN

MyVPN is available from UTMB Information Services. Signing into MyVPN gives your computer a UTMB address. This will allow you to access Library resources without an extra login step.

MyVPN setup instructions
MyVPN FAQ

Evidence-Based Point of Care

Evidence-based resources to inform clinical decision making

Essential Evidence Plus This link opens in a new window
Evidence-based, point-of-care clinical decision support system that gives you access to over 13,000 topics, guidelines, abstracts, and summaries

Clinical Overviews (in Clinical Key)

Ebook Packages

Each package contains many different titles. Search for your topic across all books in the collection or browse to a specific title.

Most Used:

Access Medicine This link opens in a new window
includes Harrison's Principles of Internal Medicine & Current Diagnosis & Treatment books
Online access to more than 100 medical titles from McGraw Hill. Includes images, illustrations, interactive self-assessment, case files, diagnostic tools, and the ability to download content to a mobile device.
AccessPhysiotherapy This link opens in a new window
Integrates leading physical therapy textbooks, procedure and exercise videos, image galleries, self-assessment tools, and a unique cadaver dissection tool.
Books@Ovid This link opens in a new window
Over 400 titles on the Ovid platform.
Clinical Key - Ebooks This link opens in a new window
Note: Clinical Key replaces MD Consult.
A personal account is required to access book PDFs, Presentation Maker, and other personalized features.
FA Davis PT Collection This link opens in a new window Physical Therapy Collection
LWW Health Library - Medical Education This link opens in a new window
Interactive online access via LWWHealthLibrary.com to over 50 textbooks on core/fundamental topics, plus procedural videos, images, real-life case studies, and quiz banks for medical and health science students and practitioners. Includes Bates' Guide to Physical Examination and History Taking, 12e, and Clinically Oriented Anatomy, 8e.
LWW Health Library - Occupational Therapy This link opens in a new window
STAT!Ref This link opens in a new window
Full-text of more than 80 medical and nursing texts
Mental Measurements Yearbook with Tests in Print This link opens in a new window
provides users with a comprehensive guide to over 2,000 contemporary testing instruments
PsychiatryOnline Books & Journals This link opens in a new window
Access to selected journals, textbooks and the DSM 5 from American Psychiatric Publishing
Mobile Access Instructions
R2 Library This link opens in a new window
electronic books in the health sciences
Springer eBooks This link opens in a new window

Other Ebook Packages

Ebook Central This link opens in a new window
Formerly called ebrary
ebooks from scholarly sources, including University Presses and other top publishers
eBook Collection - EBSCO This link opens in a new window
Provides access to full-text scholarly, reference and professional eBooks from leading university, academic and professional publishers
Gale Ebooks This link opens in a new window
A database of encyclopedias, almanacs, and specialized reference sources.
NCBI Bookshelf This link opens in a new window
Contains a collection of full-text books that can be searched online and that are linked to PubMed records through research paper citations within the text. The collection includes biomedical textbooks, other scientific titles, the NCBI News, and NCBI help manuals.

Search for Ebooks by Title

Biomedical Reference Books

Selected Titles

AHFS Drug Information
more...less...
An unbiased, evaluated source for drug information from the American Society of Health System Pharmacists (in STAT!Ref)
Citing Medicine: The NLM Style Guide for Authors, Editors, and Publishers
more...less...
Citing Medicine provides assistance to authors in compiling lists of references for their publications, to editors in revising such lists, to publishers in setting reference standards for their authors and editors, and to librarians and others in formatting bibliographic citations. Read the Introduction

Drugs in Pregnancy and Lactation by Alicia B. Forinash; Roger K. Freeman; Craig V. Towers; Gerald G. Briggs
ISBN: 9781496349620
Publication Date: 2017

DSM 5: Diagnostic and Statistical Manual of Mental Disorders 5

Linscott's Directory of Immunological and Biological Reagents This link opens in a new window
provides a complete and up-to-date compilation of immunological and biological reagents and who sells them. Sources for antibodies, assays, cytokines, enzymes, recombinant proteins, tissues, and organs are included.

Manual of Laboratory and Diagnostic Tests by Frances Talaska Fischbach; Margaret A. Fischbach
Call Number: QY 25 F528m 2009 (Reserve)
ISBN: 9781496377128
Publication Date: 2018

Mental Measurements Yearbook with Tests in Print This link opens in a new window
provides users with a comprehensive guide to over 2,000 contemporary testing instruments
Merriam-Webster Medical Dictionary This link opens in a new window
Orange Book: Approved Drug Products with Therapeutic Equivalence Evaluations This link opens in a new window
The Electronic Orange Book is updated daily as new generic approvals occur to provide timely consumer information on generic drugs. identifies drug products approved on the basis of safety and effectiveness by the Food and Drug Administration (FDA) under the Federal Food, Drug, and Cosmetic Act (the Act) and related patent and exclusivity information.

Red Book 2021-2024: Report of the Committee on Infectious Diseases, 32nd edition by David W. Kimberlin (Editor); Elizabeth Barnett (Associate Editor); Ruth Lynfield (Associate Editor); Mark H. Sawyer (Associate Editor)
ISBN: 9781610025218
Publication Date: 2021

Stedman's Medical Dictionary This link opens in a new window

Ask a Librarian

Reference Librarians are available Monday-Friday, 8am - 5pm

Call: 409-772-2372
Text: 409-433-9976
Email
(askus [at] utmb [dot] libanswers [dot] com)
Schedule an Appointment

Request a Search

Library Resources with Apps

Some Library resources simply use "mobile friendly" interfaces to allow access on mobile devices. Others have developed apps to facilitate access.

Access Medicine - Apple
more...less...
Before you download the Access Medicine app, you must first create a My Access account in Access Medicine. If you don't have a My Access account, then begin with Step 1 below. If you already have a My Access account, then skip to Step 6 below.

1. Visit www.accessmedicine.com when you are within UTMB's network.
2. Click the arrow next to University of Texas Medical Branch at the top of the page.
3. Click on "Sign in or Create a Free MyAccess Profile".
4. Click on "Create a Free MyAccess Profile".
5. Enter required data and click "Create Profile" at the bottom.
6. Search the App store for "AccessMedicine" and download app.
7. When prompted, login using your MyAccess credentials.

*For continued access to the app, the user must have an active MyAccess account and sign in every 90 days through UTMB's network, either on-site or through a VPN.
Access Medicine - Android
more...less...
Before you download the Access Medicine app, you must first create a My Access account in Access Medicine. If you don't have a My Access account, then begin with Step 1 below. If you already have a My Access account, then skip to Step 6 below.

1. Visit www.accessmedicine.com when you are within UTMB's network.
2. Click the arrow next to University of Texas Medical Branch at the top of the page.
3. Click on "Sign in or Create a Free MyAccess Profile".
4. Click on "Create a Free MyAccess Profile".
5. Enter required data and click "Create Profile" at the bottom.
6. Search the App store for "AccessMedicine" and download app.
7. When prompted, login using your MyAccess credentials.

*For continued access to the app, the user must have an active MyAccess account and sign in every 90 days through UTMB's network, either on-site or through a VPN.

BrowZine This link opens in a new window
journal reading management application developed by ThirdIron and accessible through the UTMB Moody Medical Library subscription. It allows you to pull together journals you are interested in and access them through an iOS or Android mobile app, or a web interface. It interacts with full text subscriptions from hte Library by providing easy access to our full text content. While Browzine covers most of the major publishers, not all journals are represented. You can also request Browzine add a journal if it is not listed. Browzine maintains a list of current journal requests so you can search a journal, vote for an existing request, or add a request of your own.

Clinical Key- Android
Users will need to create a personal account and apply for remote access on website (On-Campus or VPN) before using app.
Clinical Key- Apple
Users will need to create a personal account and apply for remote access on website (On-Campus or VPN) before using app.
Natural Medicines Database - Apple
Must register for a CE ID in the web version in order to activate the app.
more...less...
Resource for unbiased, scientific clinical information on complementary, alternative, and integrative therapies
Psychiatry Online - Pairing Mobile Device
more...less...
Pair the mobile friendly site with your phone/tablet - no app installation required
PubMed for Handhelds
more...less...
Includes 6 components: askMEDLINE, txt2MEDLINE, PICO, The Bottom Line, Consensus Abstracts, and Clinical Decision Support
STAT!-Ref
more...less...
Android/Apple. Create a "My STAT!Ref Account" on the web version and click on "Temporary Login Account" to make the app work.
UpToDate - Apple
more...less...
Create an UpToDate account online and use those same credentials to access the mobile app
UpToDate - Android
more...less...
Create an UpToDate account online and use those same credentials to access the mobile app.

Moody Medical Library

library.utmb.edu

Distance Education and the Library: Home

Blackboard and Library resources (ebooks, articles, databases, etc.) do NOT require MyVPN or MyCitrix to work from off-campus.